Principal Investigators

Mike Buehrer

R. Mike Buehrer, Ph.D.
Professor in the Bradly Department of of Electrical Engineering,  College of Engineering, Virginia Tech
Email: buehrer@vt.edu

Stephanie DeLuca

Stephanie DeLuca, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC
Assistant Professor, School of Neuroscience, College of Science; Department of Pediatrics, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Director, VTCRI Neuromotor Research Clinic
Email: stephdeluca@vt.edu

Michael Friedlander

Michael Friedlander, Ph.D.
Founding Executive Director, Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC
Vice President for Health Sciences and Technology, Virginia Tech
Senior Dean for Research, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, College of Science, Virginia Tech
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Email: friedlan@vtc.vt.edu

 

 

Cathleen Garcia-Barcenas, OT
Occupational Therapist, Carilion Clinic
Email: crgarciabarcena@carilionclinic.org

Sarah Garrison, OT
Email: sgarrison@vt.edu

Jia-Bin Huang

Jia-Bin Huang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Bradley Department of  of Electrical Engineering, College of Engineering, Virginia Tech
Email: jbhuang@vt.edu

Aisling Kelliher

Aisling Kelliher, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, College of Engineering, Virginia Tech
Email: aislingk@vt.edu

Stephen LaConte

Stephen M LaConte, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at VTC
Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, College of Engineering, Virginia Tech
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Email: slaconte@vtc.vt.edu

Mike Madigan

Mike Madigan, Ph.D.
Professor, Grado Department of Industrial Engineering and Systems Engineering,  College of Engineering, Virginia Tech
Email: mlm@vt.edu

Sidney Mallenbaum

Sidney Mallenbaum, M.D.
Associate Professor of Neurology, Department of Medicine, Carilion Clinic and Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Joe Moskal

Joe Moskal, M.D.
Professor and Chairman, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, Carilion Clinic and Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Robin Queen

Robin Queen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, College of Engineering, Virginia Tech
Email: rmqueen@vt.edu

Thanassis Rikakis

Thanassis Rikakis, D.M.A.
Professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering and Mechanics, College of Engineering, Virginia Tech
Professor of Music, School of Performing Arts, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences, Virginia Tech
Email: rikakis@vt.edu

 

Amy Rathmann
Physical Therapist, Carilion Clinic
Email: alrathmann@carilionclinic.org

 

John Romeo
Physical Therapist, Carilion Clinic
Email: jaromeo@carilionclinic.org

Aashit Shah, M.D.
Professor and Section Chief of Neurology, Department of Medicine, Carilion Clinic and Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
Email: akshah@carilionclinic.org

Lisa T. Sprinkel, M.S.N., R.N.
Senior Director, Home Care and Hospice, Carilion Clinic

Melissa Stump
Physical Therapist, Carilion Clinic
Email: mdstump@carilionclinic.org

 

Virgil P. Thompson
Rehabilitation Manager, Carilion Clinic
Email: VPThompson@carilionclinic.org

Pavan Turga

Pavan Turaga, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Arts, Media, and Engineering and Electrical Engineering, Arizona State University
Email: pavan.turaga@asu.edu

Richard Weiss

Richard Weiss, M.D., M.B.A.
Section Chief, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Carilion Clinic and Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine